The Grand Climax

I’m still alive in case you’re wondering.

I apologize if I haven’t updated in some time. As mentioned before, the road takes a lot out of you. A journey that is worthwhile isn’t the kind that is easy – that said, I’m currently in Philadelphia.

Frankly I don’t know where to begin. This entire odyssey would not have been possible without the numerous support of people I’ve crossed paths with, both inside and outside the various communities, but most of all from their generosity and continued support.

For the next few days, I will take my time to make preparations for the final step: New York City. That said I’ve been told to contact the park board and news agencies to spread this story perhaps to raise more awareness to the message that it carries, how far it extends, most of all the significance it has.

It's been a hard day's night.

It’s been a hard day’s night.

The flag has since grown heavier by the hours and minutes. Its a cryptic thing to say but give it some thought, I’m sure it’ll make sense. For when you pit yourself against the world, seeking to understand the ways of the people within it, you learn quickly to appreciate both the beauty and harsh reality it contains.

There’s so very much I have yet to write. I’m a bit disappointed by my lack of efforts, mostly from the physical exhaustion (See: 300+ miles of traveling on foot), but in the end the effort counts. The effort, no matter how little the result that follows, is all that counts after all.

So where do I begin?

Back in March, somewhere in a rainy city, far away to the north; like a tempest within, the burning fires of youthful ambition fueled by matters both immediate and past; setting off an adventure the likes that only my imagination has ever touched, turning all that into a reality.

How?

Because somewhere down the line, I’ve discovered a strength that I believe exists inside everyone. There’s a term for it: Animus. Youth. Pride. Wrath. It is the part within that is often dormant but once invoked can push a person far beyond their limits, beneath rain and blistering heat, perhaps even across an entire continent.

It is the belief in anything, for this matter a culture, the spirituality, the hopes and fears, from people who would identify. It is the love that is nurtured by being a witness, the kind of love that is neither romantic nor materialistic, that demands personal sacrifice and absolute resolution.

Sure, I may be a kinky devil in the eyes of some, a twisted pervert to others, which admittedly wouldn’t be far from the truth. Why is it then I vehemently defend a flag – a simple piece of fabric – so fiercely as I have?

Because beyond the activities that take place, it isn’t the physical thrill of the moment that has kept me going, but that realization that the people within – every single one of them – has a story to tell. They share the hopes and dreams, the fears and concerns, that make us all too human; it is a reminder of what it means to be a part of a culture, rather a part of being alive, and it is the most beautiful experience and discovery that I’ve ever had.

It isn’t the weight of their stories that has made this flag so heavy to bear.

It is the weight of their love, their support, and has added to that weight.

It is that same weight that I voluntarily shouldered, all the way across an entire continent, up until this final step.

It is my love for them, more powerful than any love I’ve experienced, that has brought me all the way here.

Now all that’s left is to make it very clear to everyone, no matter how different, what it means to possess that kind of love.

***

Wow. I never thought I would have ever managed such a grand undertaking. This whole adventure would not have been possible without all the help and support that everyone has provided me. 4000 views worldwide, e-mails of gratitude and advice, and constant encouragement – Thank you.

Wait, let me try that again.

THANK YOU.

From people within the scene providing me with places to stay, driving me long distances, and vouching for me at private parties to all the people outside, the food vendors providing me free snacks, the hotel clerks offering advice, even the ghetto gangbangers cheering me on and marking me as an ‘untouchable’ persons (definitely a story to tell).

All of you. I cannot thank you enough. From the bottom of my heart, I love you, whomever you are, wherever you are; I wish you only the best, that you remember the strength you possess, and that you may never falter from your own pursuits and ambitions.

Well wishes from afar,
Amos

This entry was posted in Journal, Personal Thoughts/Insight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

